top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnsley Phillips

"Miss Ans"


"Ans." "Ans?" "Miss.""Ans!" "Hi, Ans!!!"


In my cute, primary public school, I am constantly hearing my name ring within the school. It is funny because the students and the majority of the teachers do not understand a word I say, so the only word that they know to communicate to me is Ans.


I am LOVING this experience of student teaching in Vic, Spain. From the students to the school cooks, I love the school I have been placed in. There are so many differences between the American school system and the Spain school system.


Here in Spain, the school schedule is completely different. School begins at 9 am and ends at 1 pm. Then, students either leave the school at 1 pm or they stay at the school for lunch. School resumes at 3 pm until 5 pm. While I was a little set back by this schedule at first, I have found that I enjoy it more than the American system. I have found that students and teachers are energetic and engaged the entire day because of this two hour siesta break. Also, here in Spain, kids go to school starting at the age of three. At my public school, the age ranges from 3 years old to 6th grade.


My time in the classroom is primarily spent with the two English teachers. I have gotten close to the 2nd-6th grade English substitute teacher. Her name is Africa and only a couple years older than me. We have built a friendship through google translate.


This is Africa

Africa has given me multiple opportunities to take the lead in the classroom and teach the students English. We have practiced using the past tense verbs and present verbs. It has been challenging to communicate, but I'm learning that acting helps students understand me.


I have also had the opportunity to work with the younger students. During my time with the 3, 4, and 5 year old children, I have read english children's books to the students. These children really do not understand me because they are so young, but it has been still been an incredible experience.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page